You are here:
  1. Museo Casa de Cervantes
  2. The Museum
  3. History


In 1601 the Court of Felipe III was established in Valladolid, the city on the River Pisuerga. By the end of August or beginning of September 1604 Cervantes was living in Valladolid with his family, in the main part of a house in the Rastro nuevo de los Carneros, outside the city walls and very near the River Esgueva.

The house still serves as home to poor tenants until the late XIX century.

To the end of 18th century was discovered an investigation file about the death, near to this house of a gentleman, Mr. Gaspar de Ezpeleta. Among the testimony of the witness, there was one of Miguel de Cervantes, that assisted the gentleman.

After several efforts by specialists of Cervantes’s works, to discover the location of the house where Cervantes was founded the “Casa de Cervantes” Society.

In 1912 the King Alfonso XIII acquired the house at nº 14, identified as the house where Cervantes had actually lived and Mr. Archer Huntington, president and founder of The Hispanic Society of New York help in the project, he acquired the adjoining ones.Salto de línea On 23 April 1916 the Biblioteca Popular y Cervantina, was opened to the public.

After the Marquis de la Vega died, his legacy was left to the State and opened to the public the new installations, as a Museum on 23 April 1948.

Salto de línea