The building of the Hospital de la Resurrección was begun in 1553, on land which had belonged to the Cofradía de la Consolación and where formerly la Mancebía had been, and it stood until 1890. It was at the beginning of what was then called the Acera de Recoletos, and stretched along the calle del Rastro (now called c/ de Miguel Iscar) as far as the corner of what was then known as calle del Candil (now called c/ Marina de Escobar) where it reached the calle del Perú and then came out again into Recoletos.Salto de línea The main gate, with rustic ashlars on the lower part, was presided over by a sculpture of The Risen Christ (1,95m.) the style of which is very similar to that of Pedro de la Cuadra. The design of its composition was inspired by a model created by the Italian Renaissance artist Vignola in the Palazzo Farnese at Caprarola, and it is dated 1579 on the entablature.
When the Hospital was demolished the gateway was transferred to the Museo Provincial de Bellas Artes and it was there, years later, that the Marquis de la Vega Inclán recognised the architectonic fragments of the upper part of the gateway, which were installed in 1917 in the garden in front of the Casa de Cervantes as a unique monument dedicated to the memory of the writer who cited the Hospital in his Exemplary Story The Colloquy of the Dogs Cipión y BerganzaSalto de línea