You are here:
  1. Home
  2. Culture
  3. Cultural Heritage
  4. General information
  5. Regional management


Cultural Heritage management in the Autonomous Regions

The Autonomous Communities, through their Statutes, have taken over the control of the elements of interest to them:

  • Cultural, artistic, monumental, archaeological and scientific heritage.
  • Museums, libraries, archives and music conservatories.
  • Encouragement of culture, research and, when appropriate, teaching the language of the Autonomous Community.

Nearly all of the Autonomous Communities have drafted their own legislation on the protection of Historical Heritage.